“Did God Give My Child Diabetes To Punish Me?”

I check my blog stats everyday, just to see how things are going, and if any post in particular has received attention so that I can discover what people want to know about..

I have a browse through some of my fave D blogs on my Bloglist, and I am often overwhelmed when a Mum in another continent is sharing my feelings at the exact same time, or inspired when a young woman around my age is investing every spare ounce of time and energy to keep her Diabetes on track. It gives me hope for my son’s future, knowing that people are living and surviving with this condition.

Yesterday, I visited  Penny‘s and Kerri’s websites. They were both having a light hearted guffaw about some of the more unusual word combinations that are typed into search engines, and in a bizarre twist, end up at their sites, often having no significance to Diabetes whatsoever. 

They also expressed their extreme sorrow when people are clearly looking for advice or help in relation to Diabetes. It’s a horrible feeling knowing that someone, somewhere in the world might be totally alone, grieving over their child’s diagnosis. Or when you can sense desperation in just a few disconnected words,”Will pancreas ever work again? Can I live without pancreas?” 

I get some hilarious entries, but I also get a lot of searches about children just diagnosed with Diabetes.

This morning, I found the most heartwrenching words.

Did God give my child Diabetes to punish me?”

I sat, frozen, staring at the computer screen, re-reading those words making sure that they actually meant what I thought they did.

It broke my heart to know that someone was hurting enough to think that they might find a word match that related to the most devastating sentence I have read in regards to Diabetes.

I even checked my emails in the hope that the owner of those words may have left something, but nothing.

I guess I just wanted to leave this message for you. In the case that you do happen to return my site, or you visit Penny or Kerri (just click on their highlighted names above,) or anyone on my Blogroll-there’s a wealth of knowledge and experience there- I implore of you to leave your email details, so that we can share our stories with you. I can assure you that we have all been furious that Diabetes has shown up on our doorstep and menaced with our children,leaving them terriblly ill and putting their lives in danger,and that consuming grief can linger for quite sometime.  However,it is definitely possible to make peace with Diabetes. Every endocrinologist in the world will tell you that there was nothing anyone could do to prevent the diagnosis. Diabetes does not discriminate, it sends shockwaves through all walks of life.

I need you to know that you are definitely not alone; there are so many incredible and strong parents in the Type 1 Community that will openly share their despair and pain, and you will be inspired by people who have been diagnosed for most of their lives, yet have achieved so much, even with Diabetes constantly nipping at their heels.

I am going to title this post with the same words that you used to find me, in the hope that you will return. You can be assured that any correspondence will remain highly confidential.

Kate.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rhonda said,

    Kate, I am not your mystery writer, but I do want to say how much I appreciated your words. My son Brendan, 8, was diagnosed less than a year ago. I know that I have thought those very words on numerous occasions. It is so nice to know that there are others out there that are struggling as we are, and knowing that we are in it together. Thank you.

  2. 2

    Feven Tewolde said,

    Today i forgot to give my daughter her daily morning insulin doze. She has been high all day and I am very concern. What should I do until dinner time? I have been giving her all day a lots of water but she still not feeling normal. any suggestion what to do until dinner time. I feel horrible.

  3. 3

    Momma2AType1 said,

    More like “Why did God make my child Diabetic?”

    Trying to clear tearing eyes..

    Ok, I’ll admit, I wasn’t s good girl all the time, I TRIED to be good, I’ve had a hard life, who hasn’t?

    Some ppl have had it waaaay worse, we should count the blessings we DO have, right?

    But, WhY?

    Freaking WHY?!!>>!

    This is soooo terrible, for me, right now, not having a good day with this, just when they lowered her insulin dose she’s been running higher..why?

    When we are at an extended family gathering and she meets her 80 year old Great GrandMother for the very first time and acts up in any way and I wonder if she’s too low or too high or simply acting her age..

    I wanna make sure she knows how to behave in public settings w/o totally crushing her spirit, but sometimes that’s what it would seem like, ya know?

    Sorry so long, just miserable and p. much hopeless at this point/..

  4. 4

    Janek said,

    Hi Momma2AType1,

    I can understand how you must be feeling, it’s a tragic time, and we all look for blame. Both my partner and I have been plagued by mystery illness, and he used to wonder whether it was because God was punishing him, and I know my parents wonder whether God made their son to punish them.

    God’s plan is not to punish us or our children or our parents. He has made us this way for a reason. I know it’s hard for you and for your child. We are all here to support you, but the first stage is acceptance that there is nothing you can do now, except hope and pray that science will find that cure soon.

    You’ll learn to read when your child is having a hypo or hyper moment, and you and your child will both grow and learn from this experience. Life is full of struggles, but be strong, and you will eventually receive your reward, as if seeing your child grow up able to maintain this isn’t reward enough.

    Janek

  5. 5

    grammie said,

    I just wanted to say I am sorry for your suffering and ask for help with mine.
    I lost my 13 month old grandson to DiGeorge syndrome 21 days ago. I am having a horrible time coping and trying to undrestand.

  6. 6

    grammie said,

    I just wanted to say I am sorry for your suffering. My daddy had diabetes for many years ,brought on by anti-rejection medication after a kidney transplant. It is very hard at any age.
    Also, I am searching for help while grieving the loss of my 13 month old grandson 21 days ago. He was born with a rare heart disease & DiGeorge syndrome. Please visit his blog at elijahslegacy.blogspot.com/
    I am desperatly seeking answers as to why god allowed this horrible thing to happen .Why did my Elijah have to suffer so only to be taken away?
    Grammie


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment