When life gets you down, Mrs Brown

Things have been a little less than positive in the -a-lot household recently, with a combination of the joys of Peripheral Neuropathy, visits to doctors, more tests than you can poke a stick at, and the odd extremely hot day (we do love our Australian summers, with temperatures regularly over 40 degC recently in Kate’s town – that’s 105 degF for you imperial folk), Kate and Lance have been caught up in the whirlwind of it all as the year begins, so I’m here for a quick update.

Unfortunately, there’s nothing really to update you on. Research has been quiet of late, with no real discoveries noted, but that’s not unusual for this time of year. In fact, there’s nothing really for me to say at all, except that Kate and Lance are both alive, I promise!

They will return shortly 🙂

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Shannon said,

    Kate,

    I have a few questions for you. This is a little strange for me to ask a complete stranger this. I have read your blog before though and you are the only place (other than the Doctor) that I thought of to go. First of all I am wondering about Peripheral Neuropathy. What is is and what are the signs? All I have really gathered here on your blog is that your son complains that his legs hurt. The reason I am asking is because my 4 year old daughter, that was diagnosed with T1 Diabetes in November, has been complaining (and lately crying) with really sore legs. She says that she can’t walk at times or that her legs are really slow. I honestly didn’t think much of it until it has lasted now a few weeks. The last few days she has had a fever from an ear infection too. I took her to her regular doctor and mentioned that she has been complaining about her legs hurting but they didn’t really say much about it. I even figured it might be the fever that has caused it but then remembered that it was going on at least a week before she had a fever. She was in so much pain from it today that she was in the bath just sobbing from how bad it hurt.

    Lots of info… I am so sorry. I couldn’ get you off my mind. I had to ask. I am so new to all this. Thanks for listening. I hope you and your son are well.

  2. 2

    Jan said,

    Thank you for keeping us updated. Hope that Lance is doing better and Kate has found a doctor who can find proper pain management meds. Challenging situation since doctors don’t acknowledge this can happen to a child, therefore no meds suitable. Lots of cyber-hugs, prayers, hopes from me to Lance and Kate and praying especially for adequate medical help for Lance so he can cope with this complication. So very unfair he has to deal with all this at such a young age. It is beyond comprehension; in fact, hard to even comprehend this is possible at this age. And frightening that it can happen and endos deny it and won’t help.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

